My Weblog

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Movie: SuperBad

Posted by BenSpark on August 29, 2007

SuperBad had some laugh out loud funny parts. Mostly filled with crude humor and dialogue. Not to give anything away but the movie ended as I suspected it would. Not that there is anything wrong with that but it was expected.

Probably my favorite parts were with the character of Fogle “McLovin” his scenes with Seth Rogan and the other cop were hilarious.

Evan (Michael Cera) and Seth, were pretty true to a co-dependant couple of best friends. The story was really a journey as they came to terms with being separated by college. That was handled really well. Despite an obscene amount of crude language the story although with a predictable ending was a good one.

The story makes me think about the movie Mallrats in that you have two friends one who is pretty straight laced and the other who is constantly pushing buttons and the other’s limits. Then you have a trio of side characters there for comic relief along with a bully who gets his comeuppance And don’t forget the long suffering and very attractive ladies who were the objects of their affection. While Mallrats comes out on top for better dialog SuperBad comes across with more real characters.

SuperBad was a good movie, I laughed my ass of at certain parts and cringed at others. It captured the high school misfits really well.

Before the movie there was a trailer for a couple of movies. There was an all new and better trailer for National Treasure: Book of Secrets. I got a better understanding of what the movie is about and am looking forward to seeing it.

There was also a little behind the scenes thing about the new NBC series The Bionic Woman. I have to say, that looks like something I am going to want to watch.

6 Responses to “Movie: SuperBad”

  1. jews said

    Thanks for the review, gonna give it a try.

  2. Reel Fanatic said

    I hadn’t thought of the Mallrats connection, but you’re certianly right … I think I’d give the edge to Superbad, but by only a nose, and admittedly maybe only because it’s more fresh in my mind!

  3. Drew said

    Hi Reel Fanatic,
    That’s cool. Mallrats will always be one of my all time favorite movies for the pop culture references and the dialogue of Kevin Smith’s characters. SuperBad was a good movie but I’m not finding it overly quotable yet, but then again I’m a bit older now and may be a bit out of touch even though I try and stay up on things.

  4. Drew said

    Thanks there J, It is a decent movie to watch if you aren’t easily offended.

  5. Mo said

    I cannot wait to see this!

  6. Drew said

    It is funny, wicked crude but funny, there are some laugh out loud funny parts for sure.

Leave a Reply

 
