My Weblog

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Comic Book: Buffy the Vampire Slayer Season 8, Issue 6

Posted by BenSpark on September 17, 2007


I have been enjoying every moment of the comic book series Buffy the Vampire Slayer Season 8. As a longtime fan I would have loved to have seen an 8th season. Imagine a world where there are over 2000 slayers, yeah that would have been cool.

The 6th issue in the series brings us to the introduction of Faith into the storyline. Faith has been operating on her own as a last resort operative. She is called in for the toughest assignments. When the other slayers get into a bind or cannot emotionally handle something they call Faith. We even see Robin Wood in this issue.

This issue also brings us the writing style of Brian K. Vaughn. He is the author of Y: The Last Man, among other projects. I had listened to a podcast a while back from Whitney Matheson of Pop Candy and she interviewed Brian K. Vaughn. After that interview I was very interested in reading Y: The Last Man. And I might sometime if I can get a complete set to pour over, but I may not even get to that till the Y: The Last Man movie comes out. Shia LaBeouf is being looked at for the part of Yorick.

Back to Buffy. This is a good issue because it gives us faith but also gives us a Faith and Giles interaction. Faith has never been disillusioned about her role and it is good to see the straight talk between Faith and Giles. Faith has been called upon to take down another Slayer. I’ve been waiting for a storyline like this one I heard that there were going to be tons of slayers. They can’t all be good. Think of all the different life experiences that each of these girls have had. They couldn’t all have had good role models in their lives.

We also learn a bit about Faith’s life and how she was abused in her past. She forks Giles after he touches her arm. This was a reaction to a flashback to her life before being a slayer. I expect biog things from the series and this storyline especially. There had been talk of a Faith spin-off and I would have welcomed that with open arms. This is the next best thing though.

2 Responses to “Comic Book: Buffy the Vampire Slayer Season 8, Issue 6”

  1. Elizabeth said

    I must get these comic books! I’ve heard about them, and having watched all of the seven seasons’ worth of DVDs over and over again, and read several of the fiction books based on the series (all of which are incredibly well-written by Nancy Holder and Christopher Golden), I’m ready for “season 8”! But not one of the trading card/comic book stores here in Lansing carries the Buffy books!

  2. Drew said

    I’ve read quite a few of the novels. I liked the multi arch ones, and the one where the main characters were vamps. Pretty cool.

Leave a Reply

 
