My Weblog

Just another WordPress.com weblog

TV Show: How I Met Your Mother: How I Met Everyone Else

Posted by BenSpark on October 29, 2007

This episode has to be one of my favorites of the season because it did all that fun time shifting that HIMYM is known for. I love seeing Ted and Marshall in the future as well as in the past. I also caught another hint toward Barney and Robin getting together. I know he gave her that welcome mat and I think that there is something between them. That is going to be a big reveal sometime in this show. It has to be. I guess because I want it to be. And the fact that Robin so vehemently denied that they were a couple means to me that the lady doth protest too much.

Ted meeting Marshall was a riot and substituting sandwiches for joints was a good way for Ted to tell the story to his kids. I really liked how the story of Marshall and Lily met was so idealized that when you learn the full truth of it you have to laugh. Lily certainly was not a fashion plate back in college not even a wholesale fashion plate. That outfit was one that even Willow wouldn’t have worn. And I don’t think it was goth, it was more grunge, but maybe that was just me.

This episode did keep us hooked with the final bit while future Marshall, Lily, and Ted shared a “sandwich” and Ted said “Where is my wife?” Where is Ted’s wife, are we going to finally meet her this year? With the show being very careful about time lines I am wondering how much longer we are going to be able to hold out before the wife is introduced so that the kids are old enough in the future.

And speaking of the future I looked at the Slap Bet countdown and we have 3 more weeks to wait for the next slap. I thought it was coming sooner. Oh well.

2 Responses to “TV Show: How I Met Your Mother: How I Met Everyone Else”

  1. aaron said

    It was quite a good episode. Without giving too much away I loved this exchange:

    Ted: I’m ‘Too Much Tongue Guy’.
    Lily: And I’m ‘Unreasonably Small Mouth-Opening Girl’.
    Barney: Worst… superheroes… ever.

    Anyways, I have heard several theories on Barney and Robin actually getting together..I seem to miss all the clues to that though. I also read a post somewhere that said we already knew the mother’s name? I have watched and rewatched and I still think he is making it up.
    Finally, I would totally agree on the flashback/forwards. It seems like himym and scrubs are the only two out there that still use things like that, daydreams and background gags (“NY Layer finds Nessy” or Barney’s motivational posters). Theres my 2 cents..Thanks for your recaps.

  2. Drew said

    Hi Aaron,
    Thanks very much for the comments. I don’t recall ever hearing the mother’s name however I have caught some clues as to Barney and Robin getting together. The welcome mat is one of them and Robins vehement rejection of them being a couple is another.

Leave a Reply

 
