My Weblog

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Psych Returns 01/11/08

Posted by BenSpark on January 10, 2008

The TV show Psych returns with all new episodes tomorrow night at 10:00pm. I have been waiting for this return since the summer. We did get a teaser episode for Christmas and believe me that was much appreciated. I have been a fan of this show since it started and I am drawn to it because of the Characters of Shawn and Gus. Their friendship is one of those that I can relate to. I have a friend, let’s call him Ben. And Ben can be very much like Shawn. He is comfortable in every situation, he can talk to anyone and he has a particular charm that disarms people. I on the other hand am very much like Gus. I have to have things a particular way, I have to have a plan and I am rather uptight. I know, unbelievable, but true.

The way the show depicts such a strong friendship despite the countless times that Shawn has given Gus a hard time reminds me of the many times that Ben has been that way with me. However, because we are friends and have had many shared experiences and adventures we continue to remain good friends despite the differences in our personalities. And I like seeing a friendship that is so strong between two everyday guys. I feel like I could hang out with both Gus and Shawn and have a good time.

I also love how many 80’s references (obscure ones too) the show can throw our way. I am looking forward to any guest appearances that they may have in the future like having John Amos as Gus’ uncle Gus and Ernie Hudson and Phillicia Rashad as Gus’ parents. This made for a great connection to the 80’s. I hope to see much more of this in the future episodes. As far as episodes I have no idea how many will be shown before the show goes back on hiatus til summer again. I wonder how the writer’s strike has affected the show.

Leave a Reply

 
